Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Sofia

    May 6, 2017 in Bulgaria ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Woke up just in time to talk to mum and dad. We talked for a about an hour. I love talking to them. :)
    Cat still doesn't recognize me. It's all an act I'm sure..
    I miss him I just want to squeeze him.
    Jess called through to talk to Will while I was talking to mum and dad. I'm getting really sad :( I want to talk to everyone too but they keep calling through to Wills phone so I don't get to talk to them cause I don't fit in the screen and/or they call through when I'm not available i.e. In shower, sleeping or talking to someone else :(
    Wahhh.
    I like listening to their voices though.
    That my small whinge for the day done.
    Boots apparently rubbed herself against the screen. Stupid Thaddeus, why can't he do that?

    Will took forever to get ready. Our convos ended about 12:30 and we left the house around 2/2.30. We decided not to do the communist tour - we will do one in Berlin or similar.
    We were going to walk to the center but I made the point that if we walk and the museum is shut because of St Joshua or whatever public celebration it is today - then we will need something to do and might have to do the tour anyway but won't have enough time to eat beforehand (both starving at this stage) so we did end up getting a taxi. The guy didn't speak English but got us to the right spot. :) we keep going to church Alexander because the name Alexander doesn't change with the language.

    (While I was whining for Will to hurry up he told me to eat some Nutella, so I did :)
    Hardly satisfying but it got me through til after the museum. )

    We went straight to the museum to see if it was open and it was - woot! We decided to push through and eat afterwards. The museum had some interesting things but the vibe was nowhere near as good as Macedonia. It had lots of statues, gravestones and all your other general museum type things. There were paintings in the upper section that you had to stand 70cm away from or an alarm would go off. One lady set it off, I had a little giggle.
    The highlights would have to be the old helmets and armor. I like looking to see if they have any obvious signs of impact rather than have just designated with time. I also like the weapons and like thinking about how many people (if any) had the weapon used on them.
    There were also old animal bones but the best was the jaw of a cave bear dating back 250,000 -45,000 BC so that was pretty awesome.
    After the museum we desperately needed proper food so we went searching but most places were just cafes. We did eventually find a place wayyyyyy up the end.
    The food was average but there was a cat sitting on the mesh awning above us :)
    We got a taxi home and I had a 2hr nap. It was magical.
    Will woke me and we went bowling at the joy station directly behind our building. It was pretty hip inside. It had a bowling alley upstairs and downstairs was like this massive bar/club place that had a stage that's obviously booked for events - it also had pool tables and dart boards except it was very clean - more like star city than a pub.
    We played 3 games of bowling - it was so cheap in comparison to home. It was about $10 each for 3 games. #winning.
    Will won the first 2 games by 1 point and by then 3 points- but I won the 3rd game by 20 so I was the overall winner :D
    We remembered to return our bowling shoes ( not like the time me and Andrea walked around Macquarie center in the bowling shoes for an hour because we didn't realize hahahaha)
    We then played pool downstairs. You don't pay for one game you pay per hour.
    Will won all 3 games it was bullshit. I was smashing him in the 1st game but the silly yellow ball lost me the game. In the first game I broke and then proceeded to sink 3 balls straight. I'm basically a professional.
    We then went to club 35 and had cheeseburgers. Delicious again.
    Came home and packed and possibly downloaded more movies...
    Earlier we also looked at transport to Hungary but it's not really convenient so we got super duper cheats flight to Brussels - 26€ each.
    I think it ended up being $209 all up once we added our big bags. So pretty stoked :)
    Booked for 2nd June - woo!

    Other notes:

    -Tourism is up 200% since last year in Bulgaria thanks to Ryanair.

    - The Mountain is the closest to any city in Europe and is responsible for their clean air

    - Will randomly knew that the Desert pea is the national flora of south Australia ??

    - we also emailed grandma and granddad to see if they have received their package and to give them the link to this journal. If they ever read this please know I apologize for the terrible grammar, spelling mistakes, occasional swear word and disorganised thoughts but it's acting as a personal journal - so it's meant for me, not others :)

    Plovdiv tomorrow! Woohoo!
    Read more