Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Transit

    May 7, 2017 in Bulgaria ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Wakey wakey.... ehhhhhh -.-
    We slept in past 10 because I think the checkout time here is 1. We weren't sure but the reception dude is never there anyway.
    We walked to the servo and it took over 20 minutes for us to get a taxi. So many went past but they either already had passengers or didn't speak English.
    The dude we finally got was a crack up. He hardly spoke English but spent the whole trip trying to get us take a taxi instead of bus to Plovdiv. He kept speaking Bulgarian and we kept laughing together because no one had a clue what was going on.
    We finally got to the bus station and bought our tickets but we were hungry so we got a later bus so we had time to eat first.
    My $3 baguette was delicious.
    We got the 2pm bus and I slept the whole way. It was fantastic - the bus windows were higher than usual so I could actually rest my head on the ledge.
    When we arrived it was pissing down rain and we got saturated while getting our big bags off the bus and running to shelter. We waited for a little while before we attempted to find a taxi.
    I showed the driver the address and he said yes so I thought he understood but he drove us to some fancy hotel. I said no and he became really stressed. He took my phone with the address on it into the reception inside for them to translate. We eventually go to the hostel and me and driver clapped with relief when we did.
    I was thankful he didn't give up on us and make us get out at the wrong place. He was kind and im thankful.
    Our hostel is suspicious looking..
    We weren't sure if we were entering the front or back door.
    Some chick showed us our room. It doesn't look as advertised but it will do. We are both in the top bunks on opposite sides of the room and I think I might be the only girl in our room lol.
    The pillows look dodgy but they provide clean enough sheets.
    There are lockers but I don't know how the locks will go so I'm just keeping my passport on me until we investigate more.
    Good luck to Will, he might break the bunk.
    We sat in the common room and it was super awkward at first but Will started up a convo with an American dude which broke the ice.
    We played a game of chess, Will won but I didn't get slaughtered like I thought I would have. I haven't played in years and years.
    Will then played the American and won that game too.
    We went out for dinner which was ok and then just walked down the old town street. We didn't want to do too much looking in case it takes the awe out of the tour we hope to do tomorrow.
    I need a salt shaker omg.
    We couldn't find a supermarket. We will need to buy cereal tomorrow.
    We bought Oreos hehe.
    We went back to the hostel and got invited to dinner. In the spirit of making friends we went along anyway.
    We went with this 73 year old man - strange.
    Then another Aussie guy and girl and an American.
    I love the American girl. She had me in stitches. She reminds me of Tina Fey.
    The Aussie girl annoyed the crap out of me. Her accent was wrong and after knowing her an hour she made me sign her 'book' with a personalized note for her, add her in Facebook and look at several ALBUMS on her phone of her travels. I did not care.
    Very self absorbed person.
    She also whipped out a condom that the manager of the last hostel left under her pillow. She claims to fell sexually harassed but
    Uhm, 2 questions, 1 - why would you keep it in the first place and secondly, why would you keep it in your carry bag . Like, she had it on her person at dinner in a resturant...
    Attention seeking to the hills omg.

    The food they served looked deliciously authentic. We might go back. We walked back to the hostel and were stoked to find out the old guy and annoying girl were from a different hostel.
    So they left woohoo!
    We spent the evening talking to Nick and Ilana. (Aussie and American) we get on well. They are doing a tour tomorrow and if there is room we might join them.
    I'm currently just hopped into bed. It was so difficult not making noise in the dark.
    The bed russles with every movement I make.
    Going to be an interesting sleep.
    Read more