Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Veliko Tarnovo

    May 26, 2017 in Bulgaria ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    I slept so good ☺️
    We got up and had some cereal on the balcony when mum and dad called through. We chatted for half an hour. I try to think of things to tell them that aren't in this journal but it's hard.
    After we hung up we got ready to go to Tsarevets fortress on Tsarevets hill.
    It was only 6 Lev each which was great. We thought that this was a big enough attraction to warrant the selfie stick so Will quickly walked back home to get it while I tried to navigate my way through the sea of school children.
    We didn't get an entrance ticket only a crappy receipt which I'm disappointed about so I plan to buy a postcard to stick into my paper journal so I can have a token from the fortress.
    We met up and walked through up the bridge to the main entrance. You could so easily imagine people riding there horses up into the fortress. We took a lot of pictures!
    We walked around the edge where there are lots of ruins but still clear outlines of buildings you could imagine as houses or little shops/blacksmiths etc.
    Unfortunately there were no English signs and even the Bulgarian signs were scarce.
    We went up a watch tower which had a set up you could pretend to chop a persons head of with - so we did. I think Will enjoyed it a little too much.
    We went to the very edge and from what I gather it was an execution site. Not sure if they meant this is where the beheadings took place or if this was the wall they threw people off because it was very high and would have been just as effective lol.
    Will does not take safety signs as seriously as me. He wanted to climb down and have a look and I said no because there are signs specifically saying not to do so lol. They have left it as authentic as possible meaning very real DANGER lol. No, I do not want to climb over walls that are hundreds of years old, falling apart and on top of a very big drop!
    His main motive was to try and find a medieval sword... 😏
    Goose.
    We then went walking and then realized we had definitely taken the wrong path. We were just walking in the bush haha. We turned back, and ended up in "the palace ensemble". It was under construction which of course Will ignored so we entered some building. Will thinks it's the reconstruction where the King and Queen lived ( original was destroyed by Turks in the 1200's) but I think it is too small especially for royalty. We walked up the hill to the church - it's interior artwork was so odd! I've never seen designs like it - well, in a church.
    There was a big original slab.
    The school groups are really annoying but I spoke that's how you work out if you are visiting a worthy attraction or not... their presence is a good sign lol.
    We say the outer battle tower then went for lunch.
    The strawberry lemonade was superb 🤤🤤🤤
    We went and got Oreos and juice from a convenience store and on the way home Will was being impatient and tried to overtake a tour group and ended up falling down the hill. Hahahah he went so red and was so embarrassed he got angry at them. "Stupid asians" it was literally all his fault though because he wasn't looking where we was going. He fell into one of them. Silly William. He crushed some of the Oreos and his knee bled a little bit but he gets little sympathy from me because I received none when I fell over at the acropolis.
    Back at the apartment we finished watching Aladdin and watched the Truman show. I did it for English in year 11 or 12 but never actually saw the whole thing.
    Can anyone sayyy A+? Hahahah
    Will wanted to go on a pub crawl but we couldn't find any so we just went for a walk to a place we ate at the other day and had nargile and drinks. The nargile was crap - not enough flavor. The waiter was fantastic though - he gave me a free lemonade and opened up the terrace area just for us so we tipped him - first person in ages.
    Naturally because Will wanted me to look presentable when we went out he asked me to not wear my hiking boots - it poured rain.
    My hiking boots are waterproof but noooo I had to wear my other shoes 🤦🏼‍♀️#poohead.
    We were lucky though because here drainage isn't the best and cars were spraying water everywhere where but we avoided it :)

    Also note today we saw the Asen Dynasty monument. 👍🏼
    Read more