Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 54

    Veliko Tarnovo

    May 27, 2017 in Bulgaria ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    So last night Will said to turn off my alarm and just let us sleep. That ended well, we got up at 1.
    JESS FOUND MUNSTER - sooooo relieved! She did not need anything else happening. Genuinely so happy. He was in a neighbours yard cowering behind a shed.
    We got up and had breakfast/lunch on the balcony.
    The floor is filthy and feels so gross under my feets. I think it's part Oreo crumbs but also crap from our shoes.
    We had a productive morning - it was raining heavily so we decided to book accommodation. We decided to smash it out so we have now booked for Sofia, Brussels, Ghent and Bruges. Feeling stress free because that means Belgium is completely booked!
    We are staying in Hostel Mostel in Sofia which is only $10 a night and has been recommended by a few different people.
    Then in Brussels and we are arriving late so we are going to stay in a BNB and our host is willing to stay up for us so that's great!
    The next 2 spots are also hostels.
    YAYAYAY.
    So I can't really remember what we did next. I know i went up to the street store to buy juice, coke and more Oreos for Will. I then watched the Trollz movie and half of magic mike before I told Will I was hungry. I don't know what he did for those 3 hours.
    We looked up trip advisor and went to the #1 ranked restaurant on there - It was called Shtastliveca.
    It was delicious! Because we didn't leave the house all day, we splurged.
    We got a bottle of Pinot wine. Will got the lasagne and o for the roast lamb with potatoes and other fancy words.
    Yummo! Our waiter was very good - he guessed we were Canadian or American though 😒
    He recommended a dessert for us which we went with. It was like a cookie, dough, honey walnut combo. He said it was a cake but it looked like ice cream scoops.
    The wine went straight to my head.
    For a splurge night it still only cost us 77 Lev!
    On the walk home we went to the tequila bar. It served a yogurt cocktail which sounded so awful I had to try.
    To be honest it was actually alright. Just tasted like strawberry yogurt drink with bit of a kick.
    Will had. Jack Daniel's and coke and had the same scenarios last time - was given a coke bottle, a glass with the shot and 2 separate glasses with ice. We have preciously inquired why they do that and apparently it's to prove to the customer that they aren't getting ripped off with the alcohol content which I understand but I feel this new method means a lot of unnecessary washing up lol
    We have now walked home - which I made a complete dick of myself on the way. I started marching down the hill like I was on stage/ a solider for unknown reasons and speaking in time to the march - Will started laughing and wouldn't tell me why - when we arrived at our door he told me to look up and to the left..... about 5-10 people standing onto of the building watching us and having a giggle. Yep, didn't see them. 😧hahah oops. How embarrassing.
    We are now home - Will watching American gangster while I wrote this and will crash soon.
    Read more