Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 78

    Amsterdam

    June 20, 2017 in the Netherlands ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    We are quite honestly considering not answering the phone to the Pickering's anymore.
    Helen called this morning to tell us Grandad has had a stroke.
    We are the only grandchildren to be told until they know more facts. Jess obviously doesn't need the stress and Alecia is due in 3 weeks.
    From what we have been told though - he is conscious, just very confused.
    We will know more soon.
    We are both very anxious to hear news but are hopeful because at this point; he is alive 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼
    We went to the cafe across form our hostel hotel and had a decent meal.
    Because it was around midday we had burgers - it not only came with chips BUT ALSO WITH SALAD 😍😍😍I miss vitamins.
    The daily William poo meant we went back into the hostel for about an hour before he decided "it's just not ready" and we finally left.
    We bought Van Gogh museum tickets at reception because Anne Frank apparently has a big line and it's best to book online. It I just wanted to leave the damn hostel already so that has been postponed again lol.
    We had to pick a time to go to the museum- 4pm was the earliest time available.
    We went to central. I really wanted to use the train tickets we bought yesterday but never scanned but the honest citizens that we are - we just bought new one. Barriers were again open today -.-
    We would save 12€ a day if we just didn't buy them. I'm sure a lot of people probably don't lol.
    We walked and walked and walked and are now siting in a park - it's 3:20pm it's beautiful here. I really like Willow trees.

    We went over early and walked past the I AMSTERDAM sign and through their main museum - have to leave something uncompleted for next time haha.

    They let us in early and we went straight to the gift show. You could tell the intended market was for 50+ lol I do think they have missed a real money making opportunity by not selling ears. it could be a cute little stress ball?
    It had 4 floors all up I think.
    I was actually surprised by how many of his paintings I actually liked and would put in my house. Fame doesn't always mean talent.
    I liked his bold colours and strong lines.
    The main famous ones we saw were his self portrait, the potato eaters, the bedroom, and he blossom tree one - find real name. But obviously many more were also recognizable.
    It had a lot of details about the man himself and time lines relating to his life.
    I got in trouble for taking photos but there was no signs and I didn't have flash on so no dramas.
    I liked his drawings too. I don't know, I just really liked the artworks.
    The places downfall was the amount of people and layout. I feel there was an unnecessary amount of space between artworks.
    Wills input " it wasn't the best but I'm glad we saw it"
    We got Will some food and now we are back in the park doing nothing.
    We had a snooze and then walked back.
    Will had a quick out loud worry about money.
    I think we are doing ok, we just need to not eat so much. Specifically, William needs to cut down 5 meals to 3. Lol
    It will be so good once we get back to the balkans.
    But as I said from the beginning, I'd rather come home early because we ran out of money than not see or do anything but stay here the full year.

    I was scouted potential magnet/shirt shops. Tomorrow Will is meeting up with his friend, Tom. When we part ways I'm thinking that's when I'll go get my souvenirs so I'm not pressured to rush the decision lol.

    Will had another poo saga so we waited at reception because he would prefer to poo there rather than our room because the toilet echoes. He is still waiting for the one from this morning to come... honestly he is ridiculous.

    We played a game of Jenga and Will one by one tile. If I had gotten it out successfully it would have been a perfect game. - meaning the game cannot continue without failure. It reached its end potential.

    We went out and had Italian nearish to the hotel.
    It was cheap.
    Walked home and played another game of Jenga. I won this time :)
    We watched a Eddie Griffin comedy show on the computer and are just relaxing. 👍🏼

    Sleeeeeep 😍😍
    Read more