Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 79

    Amsterdam

    June 21, 2017 in the Netherlands ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    9:45 wake up 😒
    I cleaned the room a little cause our stuff had started to spread.
    We went to central station - we bought new tickets again and again, the gates were all open -.-
    I was staring to have hunger pains so we went to a cafe for brunch. I had a club sandwich and it was truly horrendous. Worst I have even had. No sauce, dead egg... well dead everything really 😒
    At least we got a decent sized juice today.
    Getting quickly over the 200ml Coke bottles and no tap water 😞😞😞😞😞 all I wanted was water this morning but nooooo tap water is an impossible task...
    We then went to meet up with Wills tafe friend, Tom to watch State of Origin in a pub.
    The atmosphere was awesome! It was full to bursting with Aussies haha.
    It also was selling VB and XXXX Gold.
    The game was good. At half time I went out and bought, 2 magnets, a shirt and socks and still came in well under budget.
    I bought a men's shirt because the cut on the woman's was so stupid. As the sizes went up only the head and shoulders got bigger.
    Nobody has such broad shoulders with such a flat stomach.
    A "Netherlands" magnet simply does not exist. You can only get Holland.
    I'm annoyed.
    After I got back the game got crap and we ended up losing :( hopefully we win game 3 and get the series. Im not hopeful though lol.
    We then went walking to Anne Franks house - the line was outrageous. We forgot to book tickets - we left and hopefully we remember to pre book for another day.
    We didn't want to wait 3 hours just to get into a cramped room.

    We both needed to pee - Will used a public urinal next to a canal - they are so bizarre and then we went to a cafe for me to use the toilet there. Will got a cappuccino just so I could.

    We then asked for directions on where to buy stamps - bought them and FINALLY posted the postcards to baba Penka and Nana.

    We walked home, caught train and are now lying down in our room.
    I was sweating so much my armpits were saturated haha.

    Eventually Will went out to meet up with Tom for a pub crawl.
    And least he can reuse the train ticket because it's the same day 👊🏽

    So strange thing happened..
    I decided to go get something from the vending machine.
    When I came back up I couldn't get in the door. At first i thought I got the room wrong but no, after checking each detail and scenario 10 times I accepted the fact I was locked out 😒

    I went back down to reception and told them my story and said the key didn't work then told them my room number.
    Reception dude was pretty confused by the situation because my key wasn't for my room.
    Hence why is wasn't working......
    He then made it my room and the problem was solved.

    The only explanation I can think of is that I was using a cleaners key they left in the light switch thing and then they got muddled.

    It was odd and greatly annoying though. Going to reception is actually quite the journey. We are at the very end of a tremendously long corridor on the fifth floor.

    I looked up Anne frank tickets.... yeah it's not gonna happen lol.
    All booked out and only other option is waiting in a 2hour line Will is unwilling to do.

    We bought inappropriate postcards for Ashley and Tom Carnell today. We have leftover stamps too. Woot.

    Forgot to add earlier.. I had this conversation today at the supermarket
    Me: " hi, do you sell stamps for like letters and postcards?"
    Worker: " yes... for a cat? *points at cat food*

    .... 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️

    I have watched Snow White the cartoon and Ben Hur tonight.

    No news of grandad. I had anxiety coming back to the hostel today because without wifi we are blissful ignorant.
    I was scared of the message that might be waiting for us.
    There was nothing.
    No news is good news for now.
    Read more