Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 80

    Amsterdam

    June 22, 2017 in the Netherlands ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    We got woken up to the roaring building alarm telling everyone to evacuate the building.
    *grumble grumble*
    After the fire in London recently I was anxious to get out straight away but classic William DORDLED out of bed and into the toilet while the whole building is screaming NEE NOR NEE NOR.
    I stood by the door stuck between 2 impulses. One to run and one to wait for my idiot.
    Our room mates had long gone by now.
    He finally finished his 30 second wee and I went into the corridor which was packed.
    Story goes it was a false alarm but still, could not believe his lack of urgency. Especially after last week. I have no desire to die in a building fire.

    I snoozed for another 20 before starting to pack.
    I think I need a new toothbrush. My teeth still feel furry after brushing.
    Will has a very sad tummy :( has done for days. it's really awkward listening in to such private business but the toilet echoes 🤣
    We checked out with 3 keys - either our room mates left one of theres behind or my theory about be cleaner from last night is spot on.
    We went to central, Wills tummy needed food so we stopped in at the first thing we saw - Burger King because Will was getting pretty desperate for pain relief.
    He slowly nibbled on a cheese burger and I tried their big mac version, King Mac lol.
    Doesn't even come close.
    We then walked the terribly long 1.7km journey to our house boat.
    Ok so it's not that far but with my big bags, 100m is too far lol.
    We found the boat relatively easily.
    Our front door is so tiny!!! Because it leads to the bottom of the boat. Watching Will get in was quite funny.
    I went first, then the bags then him.
    It only came up to my hips so he had to practically fold in half hahah
    The inside is awesome though!!! Love it! We have aircon and a tv so we are set for our planned lazy day.👍🏼
    Nap time ✌🏼

    Woke up to the sound of rain 😍
    A massive storm soon came though. I loved it! I sat on a fluffy mat and looked out the little circle window. If Amsterdam floods the best place to be is on a boat 💪🏻
    It went for ages and the lightning from outside lit up our little space.
    So cozy :)

    In our welcome booklet thing it says there is a mini fridge and all drinks are free... we can't seem to find it though 🤔🤔

    We have no intentions of going out into the storm so we have decided to try using deliveroo.

    We have order pasta and pizza. I've put in the instructions to not enter the boat and I'll go upstairs when the app tells me they are on their way. 👍🏼
    We are watching the soccer at the moment.
    Cameroon Vs Australia. It took me a good solid 15 minutes to realize it wasn't in English.

    Our food was eh really hahah we are having such bad luck.
    At least it didn't break the bank.

    We went out to the supermarket. On the way I pet a cat 😍😍😍😍😍 beautiful baby rubbed up against my leg.
    I liked the walk to the supermarket. It was more suburban and you got to see where people who live in Amsterdam actually live.
    They have this big beautiful weed growing everywhere up their houses. It's actually quite a large flower.
    We bought bread and filling to make sandwiches to have for lunch tomorrow. We might go see some windmills. You shouldn't go to Holland and not see a windmill.

    Walked back. I've had a bowl of coco oops and we are watching the Telly.
    The room temperature is just right 👌🏻
    Read more