Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 97

    Venabygd

    July 9, 2017 in Norway ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    Woke up at 10 - Andrea said she was on her way so we started getting ready.
    She arrived around 10:40 - we gathered our stuff and went down to her illegally parked car out front haha.
    She put on some tunes and away we went.
    Norway is becoming prettier the further we drive, as expected.
    We drove past/near the building their constitution was signed in and past Norway's biggest lake. Very pretty.
    We stopped at a service station because she was insistent that we some Norwegian food thing.
    She bought 10 - there was an option of buying 100 😂you could buy relevant souvenirs hahah.
    We found Bundaberg ginger beer so we bought one each.
    We kept driving for a long time but I had a little snooze 🙊
    The views are incredible. This is proper Norway, I love the forest trees.
    We got a call that the horses weren't ready yet so we went on a hike first. 🙃
    Andrea has worked at the horse place and in the adjacent mountains for the past 10 years so she picked a mountain for us. Lol
    The different fauna really interests me.
    I love the 2nd half of mountain hikes - the downhill part...
    We walked a decent way - I don't know whether this is specifically a Norwegian thing or a hikers in general thing but once you reach the top you out a rock on an already big pile of rocks. So at the first "summit" we did that :)
    My ears, mainly my left one really really really hurt - it was sharp like when you need to pop it on a plane only i didn't need to. It was ridiculously cold and windy too so I thought that might be a factor so I put my hood up and finger In my ear which seemed to help.

    The views were marvelous - you could see out so far.

    We walked over to another peak and pile of rocks.. Will naturally felt the need to put the biggest one he could find at the tippity top which later fell down and took other people's rocks with it. Tut tut.

    At this peak there was a guest book which we signed :)
    Oh and a bench so we sat for a bit. Some other crazy people cane RUNNING up the mountain and signed it too lol.

    Andrea hot-spotted me ( mum, that means she gave me some of her internet ) so I could download a 360 degree photo taking app to try capture the whole area. It semi worked. I'll need to read up on the proper instructions.

    We walked around the mountain on the way back rather than back over. Phew.
    My ear was feeling better at this point - I did a wee in a bush hehe but then as I was running to catch up to everyone I started running to fast down the hill and had momentary concerns about not being able to stop but after a lot of effort and a laughing fit I managed.

    We got back in the car and drove over the horse place.
    There was a different group getting ready to go.
    Our horses weren't saddled up so we did that ourselves :)
    Will got a horse called Olaf, I got Svarten ( black in Norwegian) and we're not 100% who Andrea rode because we think she might have taken the wrong horse 😂
    I gave my horse the biggest hug. He wasn't as fluffy as i would have liked but it was nice hugging something other than Will hahah
    He was really friendly and didn't mind my affection hehe.
    We both brushed down our horses while Andrea checked their hooves. Then we put the saddled on, put our helmets on then got on.
    Will claims not to be scared and that he just doesn't like horse riding. I don't believe him. It's like the BS claim he made when we visited Jaxon in the hospital the day he was born and he wouldn't hold him because "I just don't care".
    Nope, he was scared.
    The same thing today.
    We walked for the first hour without any issues and we could hear Will talking to his horse in the same voice he talks to Jaxon and the cats.
    He was warming up:)
    Andreas horse went first which my horse didn't like but my horse was a good boy and obeyed the rules.
    Wills went wandering off paths and tried to eat every minute which Will let him do lol.

    We walked through a river which was really fun.
    We also walked to a massive crevasse I think you would call it? Basically just a massive hole in the middle of the mountain. Will became nervous again lol.
    Our asses were hurting big time by now.
    Will seemed to be enjoying himself well enough by now.
    this all changed quite quickly lol.
    Will had a retard horse who fell down the hill - lucky Will jumped/ran off the horse in time but the horse went rolling. It has a little blood nose - we think jut a scratch - it got up and started eating so we knew it was fine lol.
    Will handled that pretty well and was happy to get back on.
    He started complaining a lot about his balls and their slow death...
    AND THEN.
    His feet are to big for the foot holders so 10 minutes later when an unidentified insects stung his ankle and he couldn't reach to get the wasp off and started screaming - that wasn't too fun..
    I jumped off my horse and tried to get the sting out for him.
    Getting back on my horse was interesting lol - it kept moving because it wanted to be the leader
    The distance back to the farm is normally run by the horse but because lWill didn't even want to trot the walk took a long time.
    He was in a FOUL mood which was magnified when, once we arrived a horse stood on his foot. Lol
    Originally I thought maybe I would be able to go riding with me again. HA that possibility went out the window very quickly lol.
    We had to walk the horses back to the paddock which i didn't want to do because Wills mood effects mine and he was done. Completely done.
    Oh and I had food In My pocket the horse wanted to eat so wasn't being cooperative lols
    But we managed and got them home.
    Andrea drove us to the reception to pay. Our first card declined, not sure why but the 2nd one worked. It was only $15 each so actually really cheap.
    Forgot to mention earlier we paid for Andreas petrol because it's a 3hr drive each way so we needed to be good people lol.
    The drive home was good cause it gave Will time to calm down and because the sun doesn't set I saw all the things I missed on the way there.
    They grow grass on their roofs and it's awesome.
    I love the style of houses. It's very 1800's - like wooden cabin style things except they are ALL like it.
    We stopped in at McDonald because once again NO OPTIONS AVALIABLE.
    Drive drive drive. We listened to some tunes and now we are back home. So happy to be back. Tomorrow we need to figure out how to get to a big risk thing we want to see on the other side of the country.

    Side note: I have never met a bunch of such gassy horses and Will wants me to note his horse walked into a tree that's why he got stung.
    Read more