Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 172

    Marrkakech

    September 22, 2017 in Morocco ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    I didn't think I got any new bites last night. If I did then only one or two.
    Will has a few more on his back but still nothing compared to our other bed.
    This morning was wasted because we spent the whole time trying to get what the insurance company needs.
    I finally figured out why I can never find Bronwyn's emails - it's because she doesn't label them as assumed titles such as " certificate of insurance"
    We only left the hostel at 12 (up since 10:15)
    We walked past the big famous mosque - Koutoubia Mosque. We couldn't go in because we are not Muslim. It's built up to be the most impressive mosque... yes its old as crap but it's not impressive - definitely not after you have seen the outrageous Abu Dhabi one.
    We walked along the main highway which was actually really nice - quite pretty. We saw a man screaming at his wife with the rest of his family just standing there. The wife looked so unfazed by it. I just wanted to smack the man. That's the treatment outside the hose i don't like what I imagine inside might be..
    The further we walked the richer the area got.

    We ate at mcdonalds...
    Their traffic lights are more efficient than the U.K.
    We walked back to the hostel

    I crashed on the couch. My oh my it's so comfortable!
    We spent a few hours chatting with the Germans we met the other night - Rosa, Louisa and Axel. They are lovely. Rosa has given me a list of stuff to see in Germany. I felt bad for them - they were going home because Louisa was sick :( she didn't seem sick but probably a personal issues. She did get be us some insect repellent though woo!
    They have also said to message them when in Germany - Rosa is the only one with fb though (strange considering they are all 20's)
    Louisa said she will take us skiing.
    Axel wanted to exchange numbers... I have not been asked for my number in years. Like, I don't even have all my closest friends numbers.
    I would have if we had working phones....

    We went to dinner up the road with Vivienne . Will went back to drink at the hostel because he had preplanned it with Moha (main worker dude) I went with Vivienne to the ATM.
    It's Islamic new year so the square was CHOCKERS!
    Is it terrible I felt safe because they don't blow there own people up ... 🤔🙄?
    The stupid shit they had going on - it ranged from putt putt golf to dancing to falcons.

    Still need to try a street cactus.

    We stayed upstairs chatting for ages before bed.

    I am genuinely HORRIFIED by the lack of sex education Moha received. Not that I'm surprised but more that he told 3 separate sex jokes that a person in year 4 could have understood.

    One was something about how do you tell if something is a boy or girl? You shake it and you will hear its balls rattle.........
    another was people put a condom on and were like oh shit I need to pee... he had to explain the joke to us - it was suppose to be funny because the people having sex didn't know they didn't have to pee in the condom.

    I was sitting there like omg.

    The girl next to me - Vicki (Austrian) was in hysterics with me
    She just leans over and goes
    I guess it's a better story in Berber?
    Laughed so loudly.
    He genuinely thought these stories were funny.

    Vicki is the one that works in a prison.
    I know it's a long leap from me but still a cool story -
    Austria had a really really famous serial killer - he got released because he wrote books and everyone was like he has changed ... he killed more, got put back in prison then hung himself.
    Her boss or friend was the person that cut him down off the roof.

    I ate a lot of Vicki's street nuts - so yum!

    If we go to Graz in Austria she said she had a free couch :)

    A lot of the streets are lined with red and white stripes which make the roads look like a giant go kart track.
    Read more