Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 188

    Chisinau

    October 8, 2017 in Moldova ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    It's currently 4am and we have been awoken by customs for our passports.
    Soooooooo awkward. Wills passport had money in it that the officer threw back at us. He wasn't happy.
    Must think it was a bribe... Hoping we are let in 🤞🏼🤞🏼lol

    Next bloke came by and he was really nice - he checked our luggage and asked if we had anything to declare.

    Still waiting for our passports.

    Got them woo.

    We moved maybe 100m then on came the Moldovans.
    The customs chick was much more thorough than the Romanian. I had to open my bag for her to check for stuff.
    She was so brutal to the guy in the cabin next to us.
    "Why you travel alone?" "You don't have friends?" 😂😂
    It was all very intense. I don't think they liked my photo. I do look like a 12 year old boy. Eventually they stamped us both.
    On our way!
    I slept really good apparently because people in the morning talked about how loud and long the changing of the wheel took.
    I thought the information I had read must have been outdated because I didn't hear a thing 😅
    Nevermind.. Hahaha

    We arrived at 9:30am - ish.
    So groggy.

    It was rainy but we still planned on walking to the hostel.
    So much waterrrrrr 😩😩😩😩😩
    So many puddles too that we kept stepping in.
    The place was deserted and bland.
    Walk walk walk.
    We found our street easily enough. Next challenge was finding the hostel cause turns out Wills GPS only pin dropped the street not the actually house number.
    Good times in the rain were had by all.
    We found shelter and I put my bags down so I could explore. Even though they are water resistant there was a lot of water and I didn't want water seeping onto my kindle and journal book.

    Found it.

    We couldn't check in for 2 hours but they let us stay inside 🙌🏼 I had a snooze on the couch and Will called his parents to chat.
    Dural looks like it's a go but time will tell.
    We plan to get a goat.
    I will be pushing for a pig. #dreams

    Beds became available- dumped our stuff then went out for breakfast/lunch.
    Will didn't listen to the instructions given to him so he took us the wrong way...

    We found Andys Pizza though. We stood around like dixks for a while before deciding we are probably meant to seat ourselves.
    I wasn't sure if people would speak English here but our waiter did fine.
    We got 2 drinks, a pizza, soup and chips and it was only $14 😂
    Big tick for moldova.
    Went home via the supermarket then both fell asleep on our beds. The doona was so toasty. 😍
    Woke up a few hours later and it was still pouring.
    It's the wine festival at the moment and we were gonna go because it's the biggest festival of the year but it's just not gonna happen.
    We didn't even want to brace the rain for food. We had to though.. there was a resturant across the street but when we walked in it looked as if maybe an event was taking place?
    We ran down the street to option 2 which we though had exuberant prices until we figured out our meal with dessert was still only $35 😂
    Ran home and now in bed.
    Trying to figure out where we are gonna go after Romania but everything is so inconvenient. We are thinking of maybe flying to Turkey for 3 days to bang it out.

    Not sure is I have mentioned that I really love the Romanian money - the Moldovan money is tiny!

    My hair is a huge huge knot and I can't be bothered to deal with it without a proper shower.

    Looked up things to do in Moldova and it's seriously lacking. Hhaha might just go walking :)

    Our resturant had cigarettes in the menu before the dessert section hahah ridiculous.
    Read more