Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 197

    Istanbul

    October 17, 2017 in Turkey โ‹… โ›… 21 ยฐC

    Slept in ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿผ
    They are quite comfortable beds. People were so loud In the morning though.

    We packed up all our dirty washing and stuffed it into a bag. We chucked out our toothbrushes holders because they smelt like mould and we spent 10 minutes looking for our locker key which Will lost but it was on his bed the whole time...
    then we left...

    Dropped off the washing at a laundromat around the corner - luckily it went of weight and not clothing items.

    We then stopped in for kebabs for breakfast lol
    We made sure we bought the wrapped version today haha it was ok but very basic. Australia is kicking ass in the kebab department.

    We headed towards the blue mosque. We got pretty far in just as it because time to call for prayer. We have had to leave and it will reopen in 45 mins.
    So we have gone walking. Currently sitting on a park bench at a lovely park full of animals. I think they treat the strays quite well here. I've notice a few provided with food and non have looked like they were on deaths door.
    On our travels we walked through the markets ( not sure if it's there main bazaar or not. It surely isn't - it was only one street?)
    We popped into a sweet shop and I bought some Turkish delight ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜
    I've sampled 2 already and they are delicious. I don't think my sample box has a rose flavored one which I'm pretty cut over ๐Ÿ˜–

    Hung around in the park for a while then went back to the mosque. They offer free covering clothes for women so they gave me a skirt and head scarf.
    I thought that was pretty good of them.
    In we went - so you go through the entry to like te internal bit but not the prayer section - I liked this bit, very nice Turkey ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ
    We then had to line up and take our shoes off. I could smell my feet but I suppose because everyone had removed shoes they can't possible know it was my feet they were smelling ๐Ÿ˜“ inside was beautiful but I do avtually think I prefer the one in Abu Dhabi.
    I was also expecting more blue. Yes it was blue - ish but not BAM.
    The stain glass was awesome and the carpet under my feet felt friendly :) heh.
    The front section visitors couldn't enter.
    We stood and looked for a bit then left. Nothing too exciting - still great to see.

    We walked up the street and Will uttered some magical words " I feel like ice cream" ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค— ok ok you twisted my arm we can get ice cream. ๐Ÿ™Š๐Ÿ™Š๐Ÿ™Š

    We found a man in traditional attire- he did the proper ice cream show we had heard about so we tipped him. Basically the ice cream is extra sticky and he does tricks with the cones as well.

    The ice cream was great. Expensive but great. but hey, we had a good show and another ticked off experience.

    We turned around and went to collect our washing but realised not enough time had passed so we went to the hostel and organised a Gallipoli tour for tomorrow. We also put our name down for a hostel BBQ tonight.
    Will has a cold so he is grumpy lol.
    Went to collect the washing and it's all so beautifully folded woo!

    Oh my so embarrassing !!!! I was talking to Will and being jokingly dramatic about something and it turns out the dorm wasn't empty like I thought it was. She must think I'm crazy hahahaha
    He knows I was just being funny but she won't ๐Ÿ˜“ hahahah

    Will is having a rest so I'm just chilling for the moment ๐Ÿค™๐Ÿฝ

    We went upstairs to the terrace at 7 when dinner was suppose to be served but the chef bailed... there was very frantic man trying to organise everything. 1.5 hours later we got served pasta and vegetable curry thing. It was really nice but don't know why it took so long... we were starving! All we ate today was the smell kebab for breakfast and an ice cream scoop.

    It was a really uncomfortable wait because the table fotted everyone but us... so we were just sitting to the side like dicks. ๐Ÿ˜“

    I showered which I hate doing in hostels because it's so difficult getting dressed while wearing wet thongs.
    Read more