Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 242

    Florence

    December 1, 2017 in Italy ⋅ 🌙 4 °C

    Finished the last book of miss peregrines peculiar children series. Really enjoyed it.

    😡😠😡😟 some idiot got up at 5:45 (neither me or Will had fallen asleep yet)
    Banging doors, didn't turn off his alarm 3 separate times, just let it ring through and used a torch brighter than the sun.
    BANGCLASHBOOM.

    We got up later than we should have but oh well.
    Will doesn't fit the bed at all so a shocking night really.

    We walked to the gallery academia* where the statue of David is - there is a fake version outside somewhere that I've seen before but I figure this time I should see the real one.

    Had to go through a security check before we could even buy tickets.
    8€ each which is ok cause we haven't been to a museum in ages.

    First room was just paintings. While they are impressive they were by no means the best I've seen on this trip. I didnt recognise any of the artists either - that isn't to say they aren't extremely famous and important. It's very possible my own ignorance ruined it for me lol.
    Next corridor had incomplete statues by MichaelAngelo and then at the end of it - I must admit is a very good set up (impressive spacing and lighting) was the statue of David.
    All it needed was a big neon arrow pointing at it.
    We sat down and admired it pretending to be art connoisseurs.
    Will made a comment that his hands were stupidly disproportionate which I agreed with 100%
    We then went and read the info thing in it and it said along the lines of "it's so impressive and famous because of the fluidness and impressive scaling of the hands and feet"
    ..........
    ..........
    ............
    Clearly they don't know what they are talking about and if we pursued this line of work we would become experts in the field.
    No, it is not to a good scale you geese.

    I tried to take some HILARIOUS penis pinching photos. I hope no one knew what I was doing hahha

    Next room was a bunch of smaller sculptures and a lot of heads.
    Next room more painting which I didn't like - to much of the gold crap.

    Anddd we left.

    Happy we went.

    We went and walked around the main cathedral - Maria del Fiore.
    3rd biggest in the world. The detail is remarkable and it's different too because of the design. It's got a lot of green on it.

    It's fricken huge and I have not a single memory of it. I know I must have seen it before though because I remember the gold door of the building next to it...
    🤔🤔

    The line was big to enter so depending on what it is like tomorrow and price we might go in then but didn't today.

    We went h&m and bought me 2 new pairs of tights because all my pants have holes in them and so I have been wearing my thermals for an entire week (they too have a hole but it's on my butt so my black undies underneath hide it)

    We then went for food.
    Walked around - past the fake David and other statues (another flash of memory came back) and then we went to the hostel.
    I fell asleep lying on the benches in the kitchen/eat area.
    2 hours later (oops) Will woke me and we went out for Chinese food which ended up being a let down but I got delicious gelato on the way home so it's all good 👍🏼 white chocolate with pistachio sauce 🤤🤤🤤

    It's so cold.
    It's snowing in so many places in Europe already.

    The Australian girl from Venice is at this hostel too so we sat with her for a bit when we got back and her new friends. Some dude was drinking wine out of juice carton.

    Oh and completely forgot- at the gallery we went to a musical instrument section with really old instruments. Not relevant to the museum but still, cool. 👍🏼
    Read more