Satellite
Show on map
  • Melbourne - Bronte fight night

    June 28, 2019 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    So the alarm first went off at 4am.
    But did I get up then?

    Of course not.
    4.50 came around really fast and so it was a quick dash to get dressed before meeting the Uber outside for 5:05 - I ordered it last night.

    First Uber ride ever. Well first ride I’ve organised and used my account for.
    My driver was nice and efficient and I was at the airport by 550 for my 7am flight.
    A standard McDonald’s breakfast was had and the usual waiting for boarding.
    On the plane was next to this big Mauri bloke who was squashed in. He was half in my seat. Sigh.

    Didn’t crash. Always a positive.

    I accidentally bought flights to the wrong airport so I had pre purchased a shuttle bus ticket for $25 each way. Which I thought was great cause it’s an hour drive away.
    Shuttle bus was non eventful except for when I made a dick of myself trying to figure out how to work the charge points. They were rectangle and so I actually though to myself “that’s weird they have European charge points on an Australian bus” - and then I made the realization (after I had tried to maneuver my charge point 6 different angles that it was cause it was for the USB part. WOW ANGHARAD.
    Melbourne looked very scenic as we drove in.
    Once I got dropped off I walked to the travel lodge where Bronte’s parents are staying - they weren’t there at the time but it was easy for both of us to get to.
    We had brunch along the water.
    We have very different political views. I was so aware i was in Melbourne.
    I Kept my mouth shut !! Hahahaha
    The pancakes I had were delicious and very hipster in presentation lol.
    I paid for her meal as she paid for my fight night ticket.

    Background info.
    Bronte’s dad has cancer from asbestos poisoning and was given 9-12 months to live in January.
    Her dad loves boxing so she has been training for weeks for this fight night. I think you do 2-3hrs a day, 6 days a week for 8-12 weeks.
    A fuck no from me.
    She is giving the $3000 from tickets to cancer research.

    Walked around the city before meeting up with her parents at some cafe thing where they were with another couple. The man was the most inappropriate man I have interacted with in a looooooong time.
    Legit 5 seconds after I met him he put his arm around me asked if I liked older men and if I wanted a lollie *winks*
    Gross.
    He essentially made me request a drink for him to buy. I said no about 7 times before I said hot chocolate.

    Kept leaning in to talk to me making sex jokes.
    Ew.
    Bronte did warn me but I was still shocked. People don’t normal meet up to expectations but he surpassed it. It was no snowflake getting offended. He was baaaaaad.
    Granted he was like 80 but a still a big NOPE.

    I borrowed Bea’s myki card so I could catch the tram - Bronte wanted to get braids for her fight. We ducked in to the markets real quick while we were waiting for her appointment. I was buggered by this stage so I didn’t stay for the hair appointment, instead I jumped back on the tram and rode it to close to my hotel.
    Check in was easy - I then had a 2 hour power nap.
    I love hotels. I think it’s the fresh linen.

    Delightful nap.
    Aren’t they always?

    Did not want to get up.
    Extreeeeeeme motivation was needed to get dressed. I had organised to meet Bronte’s family back at the travel lodge - about 2km away.

    Melbourne is much nicer this time around. I think it’s because I’m not lost. Hahaha

    I like the art shit around the place.

    Anyway met Bea, John and Ryan - Ryan drove us to the venue - John had to wear a mask cause his immune system is so shitty - he had to spend yesterday in the hospital too - wasn’t sure if he was gonna make It but he did which I’m THRILLED about.
    Him watching her is the most important thing I think. We had a backup plan of video calling during the fight If need be.
    We randomly got ringside seats. Well it’s not random for them as her parents but random for me. I was ok haha sure why not.
    She was the 3rd fight. It’s 3 rounds of 2 mins.
    First fight I was so embarrassed by the first girl she was okay acting like the people do on the Telly. It was like ok calm down love. So cringe - BUT THEN BLOODY BRONTE CAME OUT AND DID THE SAME THING

    Dead.

    Long story short - she bloody smashed it. The clear winner.
    I had a giggle to myself cause her fight face is EXACTY the same as when she use to hit me in the car or when I would hit her.
    I was like “I know this face” hahaha
    Her opponent was her training buddy which she was pleased about - she only found out who she was fighting yesterday.

    I am so bloody happy she won.
    And when she dedicated the fight to her dad I teared up.
    Bea and John also has to wipe their eyes. Bronte goy emotional but held it together til she came around and hugged her dad. He held her so tight. It was a very special moment.

    We watched a few more fights. The men were disgusting and I got hit with so much sweat. Unimpressed hahah.

    I made the call to go home early with B’a fam rather than go to the after party cause I don’t want her to feel like she has to baby sit me. The night is for her. I dont know anyone else. I don’t know the city or have a plan to get home. Melbourne is dangerous at night at the moment and frankly I’ll save money.
    Ryan dropped me off at my hotel and I’ve been in bed ever since.
    Sydney is colder than Melbourne at the moment but my room isn’t particularly warm. In fact the bed sheets are still tucked in - gotta be some sort of record for me.

    Oh awkwarddddddddd moment with the last fight.

    They announced the winner as the red corner so the dude put up his hand but the umpire raised the other guys hand so both men celebrated before the blue corner guy finally realised. AWKWARD.
    Read more