Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Day 1

    August 18, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Was first to the airport. Standard.

    Jo did all the bookings and as I was handed my boarding pass I noted MY NAME WAS SPELT WRONG.
    genuine panic. Don’t fuck with US customs.
    It was Hflaedyge instead of Hlaefdyge. Now granted they are both ridiculous and no one will noice unless they LOOK but I’m scared a electronic device is gonna pick up on it when I scan them both.

    Got through Aus customs and had dinner. McDonalds. Delicious.
    Just general waiting until it was time to board.

    I was sitting separate from everyone (traveling with Jo, Pierce and Kate) cause jo and pierce upgraded themselves and Kate booked separately.

    Worst sleep. Was on the left side of the plane which I’ve learnt doesn’t work out as well for me.
    I watched a few episodes of friends but hat was it. Not a large variety of inflight entertainment.

    Breakfast was edible but was having a trouble with the mental barrier after suspecting it was powder eggs.
    I ate it all tho. 👍🏼

    Honolulu is very neat from the aerial view. Organised and crisp.

    Once we landed we had to taxi for a wee bit.

    And so began customs 😂
    My photo is fucking ridiculous.
    Took me so much longer than everyone to get through. Kate thought I’d been taken away to be interviewed 😂
    No one picked up on the spelling mistake though 😬😬
    So many comments and questions about my hair. 🙄🙄

    Bag system not organized - at bag was off the carousel on the floor - then had to hand it over for transfers - put on the floor in a group. Not enough space between groups for my liking.

    We tried 3 lines before we found the right line for TSA - shocking signage. Everyone was raging ha.

    Had to walk 2 by 2 past a sniffer dog. Randomly fluffy breed for a sniffer dog.

    Then through normal customs and onto our next plane.
    We were delayed 20 mins on the runway but the flight was only 20 mins so that was fab.

    We got on a shuttle bus to get to our hotel.
    Fucking humid as crap.

    The island wasn’t as pretty as I expected - very brown when we were flying in and the sea part was just a very flat horizon.
    I do like the mountains though.

    Got to the hotel, checked in got dressed quick and order and Uber to take us to the bachelorette party.
    When we got there the flower crown making was pretty much done but the lady leading it made us little basic ones so we were included 🤗
    Next was a hula lesson.
    I AM NOT GOOD AT HULA.
    Had some really trouble coordinating myself.
    Pretty sure it all got filmed which is major upsetting cause i looked and felt ridiculous.
    SONALI SMASHED IT.

    Afterwards we all caught a bus to the the Old Lahaina luau for dinner and a show.
    IT WAS AN OPEN BAR WITH THE MOST AMAZING COCKTAILS I CANT EVEN. DELICIOUS.
    We got a complimentary fresh flower Lay* and sat
    At our table.
    Me and Jo went for a walk around the area looking at local crafts and stuff and then found the pig pit where they had buried a pig under layers.
    Thy did a quick educational piece and revealed it.
    I didn’t like the buffet to my great sadness. Very fish orientated but it had a few good stuff.
    I was starting to crash majorly. We were sitting opposite the America friends - I like them. They are funny.
    The show was good - insane hip isolations by the ladies.
    It was a show of history and legend but unfortunately I just couldn’t concentrate. CRASHING.

    We went home via Uber - great driver - she insisted we have a sing along - belted our “let it go”
    Nailed it.

    Got home at Pierce realized how big our microwave is. It fits 7 separate bowls.

    We tried powdered coffee cream.
    Don’t need to have it again..

    We then had a random 2 hour d&m. Not too deep but real good chat.

    It’s somehow already 1am.

    I’ve had a great day.
    Wedding is tomorrow yay!
    Read more