Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Unpacking the treasure from Germany ...

    January 14, 2020 in South Africa ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Sitting, waiting (and sleeping) inside SACD's huge cargo hall while my car is beeing administratively processed by local customs. The container arrived in 11th but my carnet de passages arrived just yesterday via UPS courier with a huge delay, because, after the German customs completed their paperwork, they sent it back to my German home address instead directly to Kaapstad. In between came Christmas and "stuff" ...
    So, today, just now, after validating the vehicle identification number on my carnet the container is again closed for several hours and I am dropped at home (what I call The Buddha Garden by now). In the afternoon I get picked up again for the final arrangements and car release. While on the way back to the customs I get a call that unfortunately it'll not work out any more today because container unloading was scheduled too spontaneously (due to carnet delay) and has to be postponed for tomorrow. Damn! Haha! "Pläne und so ..."
    Read more