Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    About bolts and nuts

    February 1, 2020 in Namibia ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Toyota service in southern africa:
    "I lost one bolt of my panhard stabilizer rod. Can you give me a spare?"
    "We don't find your vehicle number in our system."
    "Yeah, it's a German car."
    "Oh."
    "Can you just give me a new bolt and a nut?"
    "We need a sample. Do you have it?"
    "No, as I said, I lost it in the road."
    "Oh. Hmm. Look, the part number you are requesting is not in stock. Apparently it is not available in wohle Namibia."
    "You have the hall full of Toyota Land Cruisers and Hiluxes, they probably all share the very same bolt and nut. Gimme one!"
    "We only work with original parts. We can order your bolt and nut from Japan. At least 5 days to wait."
    "But I need it now!"
    "Ok, then go to Marc's Auto."

    Marc's Auto is officially closed on Saturdays. But happily I find a guy behind the counter today! :-D
    Read more