Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 81

    Thunderstatement

    March 7, 2020 in Zambia ⋅ 🌧 25 °C

    North of Kasama I spontaneously stop by at a coffee plantation belonging to Olam (huge company). It's a plain industrial plant and they do not expect any visitors at all. Still, I get a private tour on this Saturday's early afternoon and get the opportunity to interview the manager thoroughly to make sure that he will never forget my perky questions.

    In the evening I reach Mpulungu at the world's longest lake: Tanganyika. It's also the world's second deepest lake with its ground reaching deeper than 600 m below mean sea level! I choose wild camping for tonight on the edge of an elevated quarry with splendid view northwards over the lake and prepare a whole bucket of Pfifferlinge with Zwiebelchen. Afterwards my in-car audio theatre lounge entertains me and all passing locals with Supertramp, Emerson, Lake & Palmer and early grooves of the Scorpions while distant clouds fire the corresponding light show.

    In contrast to my previous Sambian nights, which have been all very fresh at an elevation between 1300 and 1600 m, here in Mpulungu at 800 m things get slightly sweatier at night ...
    Read more