Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 84

    Why WW I ended near Kalambo falls

    March 10, 2020 in Zambia ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    During a rainy day in the Moto Moto Museum in Mbala I learn that the last bullets during 1st World War have been fired in Mbala where we find a British-styled roundabout today. War news from Europe had just arrived with two weeks delay here. The Germans were trying to connect today's Tanzania with Namibia by conquering Zambia and luckily have failed. Currywurst and Döner just wouldn't have grown here. I spend my night at lake Chila where many German weapons have been dumped after the idiots got their asses kicked.

    The next day I work my way north towards Tanzania and visit Kalambo falls on the way. Lovely! You could hike from here to the beaches of lake Tanganyika which are only accessible by boat otherwise!

    The road to the border post is pretty much the worst I have encountered so far, but fun to ride and my skid plate gets a new, personalized, professionally bended "accent". Step by step the car accumulates some character. I get rewarded by the smallest and chilliest border crossing ever, without any other traffic. Tunduma border would have been a nightmare! My Tanzanian visa I pay in three different currencies.
    Read more