Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 107

    "Keep well to the west"

    April 2, 2020 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Yeah! Via Longido up north near the Kenyan border I turn west, deeply into Maasai territory. With a detour of 20 km on dirt I deliver one hitch-hiking Maasai to the next village but this ends up in a never ending Maasai taxi because at each drop-off point there are waiting the next five guys for a lift somewhere else down the road :D After delivering the second warrior I stop this trend.

    Thanks for the detour I have to crawl through some awesome tiny paths which are usually used by motorbikes only (they’re mapped in OpenStreetMap!). The landscape gets wilder as I’m surrounded by acacia bushes and open grass patches. Surprisingly the cattle is joined by zebras and Thomson’s gazelles! Free-roaming wildlife, finally! This region here is one of the few last corridors for wildlife migrating north from Arusha National Park. I assume it intersects neatly with migration corridors coming from Serengeti and Ngorongoro areas. In all this adventure with wild paths my car gets a “natural tuning improvement” on the left side of my front bumper =)
    Read more