Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 111

    Of cows and shoats

    April 6, 2020 in Tanzania ⋅ 🌧 21 °C

    The whole idea of getting here is to visit my personal Maasai warrior Alamayani in his village Lembapuli. I get introduced to the huge family and offered to sleep in a Maasai hut :-D The chairman takes his time to welcome me and I even meet Alamayani's 100 years old grandma! It is a pretty awesome privilege to be here in this natural environment without any touristic setting. I did not expect them to be Christians as they start to pray in the evening for my well-being and the success of my travels. Woah!

    Alamayani has three daughters and two boys, his dad two wifes. All members are interleaving amazingly in their every-day habits of caring about the kids, the cattle and the household. They prepare meals in their simple, lightless huts over open fires without any chimney. The smoke just accumulates inside and exits through the entrance gap. This is also the place where we sleep and all my stuff smells like bacon the next morning :-D
    In the morning and evening we have herbal tee based on fresh milk and simple ugali or rice. Though, on my arrival a chicken has to leave its soul to the gods of the holy frying pan ...

    The next morning I get a tour around the village where the brotherhood shows me some 10-20 medicinal herbs in the bush. I taste all of them and feel a bit funny after this episode. It is truly amazing how they integrate in their surrounding nature. Every piece of bush and land has its purpose. The less important shrubs they cut for tooth brushes :-P
    Read more