Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 157

    Braking bad

    May 22, 2020 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Höhö. Last time in Dar I bought spare front brake pads. Even managed to find genuine Toyota parts! Yesterday I decided to "quickly replace the old ones" because this usually is no big deal. After removing the front left wheel I already saw that the right pad was unevenly used which indicates that one of the four brake pistons is stuck. The uneven pad would not have lasted the next descend to Mombo probably!
    Had this problem with my motorbike as well once where I managed to push the piston further out, clean it from the outside and push it back in. With the Land Cruiser it is much more fucked up. The piston only comes out when I brake with running engine and active brake booster. This already is a bad sign. Its outer rubber sleeve is punctured and the piston corroded. And after cleaning, there is no way to push it back in! We tried all possible levers but more force will only destroy either the piston or the disc. It also is unwilling to be turned.

    So, hmm, now I either have to refurbish the whole brake caliper here after ordering spare seals and even new piston(s). Or I send it to Dar for refurbishment. Or I find a refurbished caliper with fresh seals somewhere. First of all I'm going to also check on the right wheel's situation ... :-D

    Update: On the front right wheel it's similar: the inner lower piston is completely stuck as well and the upper will not retreat completely :-\
    Read more