Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 161

    Black-tea-coloured surprise

    May 26, 2020 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    The rear, single-piston brake calipers look better than the front ones. At least the rubber boots are not damaged and the pistons are retracting smoothly with slight force. After struggeling a whole day I managed to unmount the front calipers after applying Ballistol over night and with the help of a metal tube extension which I got from Indian guests from Dar. These guests also took the calipers back to Dar today in order to be refurbished at Eckhard's truck workshop (the German where I plan to leave my car once I fly out of Tanzania)! :-D

    Meanwhile I discovered another problem with my oil-dripping transfer gearbox. Apparently the seal of the front drive shaft is leaking around a teaspoon of tea-coloured, clean oil per night. When I return to Dar this will also be a nice task for Eckhard :-)
    Read more