Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    If It’s Saturday It Must Be Ponte Vedra

    October 15, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 66 °F

    Well, I thankfully slept through last night’s hauntings. Because I’m sure they happened! And when I got up this morning and went down to breakfast, my suspicions were confirmed. There was only one place set. I was totally alone in that creepy place. Shivers down my spine!

    Today’s walk was fantastic. One of the very best days. The predicted rain held off but it was cloudy which kept things cool. There were lots of pilgrims because Redondela- where I stayed last night- is where all 3 Portuguese caminos come together. So I spent time walking and talking with various groups.
    Heather and Alden- an older couple from the states who did the whole French Camino last year. He just had a stent put in his heart so I felt compelled to share with him that I was a recent graduate of EMT school. I think he felt very reassured.😀

    Then I walked with my Scottish ladies. They are very enjoyable company.

    Then I walked a while with Marta and Madelin- ages 29 and 31 from Portugal. Madelin makes earrings- a thing she started during the pandemic- she markets them on Instagram. Marta is a singer by education but is going back to school to study psychology- having been the beneficiary of several years of therapy herself- the reason many of us enter the field. They both talked about how the rise in popularity of Portugal as a destination for ex pats has affected the native Portuguese and their hopes for prosperity. Ex pats come with all their money and drive the prices up and the low paid Portuguese can’t afford to move out on their own. Both of these women were still at home with their parents. We also talked more about fado singing, as Marta sometimes sings in that style. She agreed with the concept that the more you have lived the more emotive your fado.

    Then I stopped and spoke to Kristen from Oregon. Asking her why she chose to walk she said- “I’m not sure. Maybe because I’m 73 and it’s now or never!”

    Then it was time to break off on my own. I think I’m a recluse at heart. But it was so great. I listened to Bernstein’s Mass- something I haven’t listened to in at least 30 years. It is such a wonderful piece of music and perfect for setting the mood on this cloudy day. When I ran across Marta and Madelin later I asked Marta if she knew of it. She said, “Yes- I have sung it!” Music. Bringing the world together!😀😀

    I’m in Pontevedra tonight in the Parador. Seems to be a happening place. I may even go out and explore after a brief rest.
    Read more