Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Monday- Aarmenteira to Vilanove de Arous

    October 17, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 63 °F

    When I woke up from a decent night’s sleep I said to myself, “Eileen, get a grip! Of course you’re gonna get your heinie back up to that monastery and do the Camino the RIGHT way.” (Thanks for those of you encouraging me). So that’s what I did. After breakfasting on café con leche, frutas, and about a whole loaf’s worth of bread products I called a cab and headed back up the mountain. And, as per usual, my concerns were totally unfounded.
    It was an absolutely spectacular walk! All along a gurgling stream-(although it made me have to pee the whole way)- with intermittent waterfalls- it was just lovely. I took tons of pictures and the rain once again held off.
    After the path of water and stone, I started to see more and more pilgrims. We were all funneling toward Vilanova de Arousa to get on a boat to Pontecessures tomorrow so the population was more dense than usual. Had many pleasant conversations and one quite deep one with a young guy from the Czech Republic. Very interesting. He was a massage therapist from Prague and I can’t say I didn’t think about asking him if he’d like to make a few bucks while here, but then considered it may be inappropriate..
    BTW for whatever reason, the Czech Republic seems to be disproportionately represented among the pilgrims. No idea why.
    I had a little beagle companion for part of my walk today. No collar, but he looked healthy.
    Today was the last 15+ mile walk and I am beginning to feel sad that it is coming to an end. So many thoughts and feelings. And I also miss Grant and the kids and grandkids. I think that’s what is called a dialectic- two things that shouldn’t both be true but are.
    Tonight I am in an adorable little apartment just a block from the boat pier, and it has a washer and dryer! My clothes are getting a proper washing for the first time in weeks! I’m gonna smell so good!!!
    Read more