Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Bogotá - first impressions

    May 14, 2015 in Colombia ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Big, loud and loads of traffic - that's what I already expected. Moreover, Bogotá seems rather Industrial and actually (I know, people warned me before), pretty cold. It feels a little like Germany in autumn. My hostel is on the city center, La Candelaria, which is the most historical and cultural part of the city. Taxis here are not as cheap as I expected - for a little less than half an hour I paid $27,000 COP (=10€).
    In thee plane I sat next to a girl from here, that told me about different sights, explained me how things work in Bogotá and helped me to get a cab. Getting close to my destination, I tried to get used to the order of the streets: there are carreras (north to south) and calles (east to west), and ALL OF THEM have numbers, as well as the houses. So for example my friend Daniel, where I arrived first to leave some of my luggage, lives in “Calle 127c #46-20“... Not confusing at all right :D.
    Later, Daniel went with me to the center, to help me find my hostel and show be around a little bit.
    Read more