Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Guatemala City

    February 29, 2016 in Guatemala ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Despite everyone's telling me that Guatemala's capital wasn't a really nice place to visit, I wasn't keen about leaving right away after the long flight either, so I took one day to explore the city. My first thoughts were that people had been understating, but when I arrived at the historic center it didn't even seem that bad. There is a nice historic route which you can walk all the way from the railway museum, past different churches and cultural centers, down to Parque Minerva, which contains my personal highlight: a huge relief map of Guatemala.
    Aside from that and an old mansion called Casa Mima, I spent my day enjoying the sun and eating coconuts (one of them, already peeled so you can drink the coconut water and eat the frute, costs amazing 5 Quetzales / €0,60 !). Also, I saw many women in their beautiful traditional dresses.
    In turn, the Guatemalans were rather curious to see ME, they turn ans looked at me. When I was resting at a plaza, a woman close to me in fact starred at me for two whole minutes and then asked me if she could take a picture. Even though this was exaggerated, I can't even blame the people for looking: aside from my bright hair and eyes, I am around 50 cm taller then most of them.
    Read more