Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Volcán Fuego

    March 1, 2016 in Guatemala ⋅ 🌙 10 °C

    It was a mere coincidence that enabled me to watch a spectacle I never thought I would ever see. This morning, after having arrived to Antigua, I went looking for an Agency that would take me to another of the volcanoes (Pacaya). It wasn't that easy though, since most of them are pretty expensive and didn't go before the weekend. Only one told me they would have a trip before that, but it was only two hours later. Giving it a last try I met Rolando, an independent tour guide who offers tours to all four of the surrounding volcanoes and who also told me that Fuego was highly active right now and worth going.
    At first I was a bit suspicious of that man that didn't belong to any agency and even offered every trip for by far less money. Only after having checked his reliability with my hostel I booked the tour - and couldn't believe my luck.
    With a group of Spanish students (there are a lot of schools for foreigners here) we went to a coffee finca the same afternoon. At first it was really foggy and we couldn't see anything but lighting bucks and bats. We even heard some coyotes! But most of all we heard the loud explosions of lava at the top of the volcano, even though we were 10 km away. We waited for around two hours and were already starting to leave when all of a sudden the clouds of ash moved enough for us to see the steady eruptions and the lava flowing down the mountain. It's just impossible to describe this view!
    Read more