Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Lago Atitlán

    March 4, 2016 in Guatemala ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Yesterday I arrived at San Pedro la Laguna, one of the surrounding villages of Lago Atitlán. It's really small and consists of tiny streets, around half of them looking as if you couldn't even walk there. It's impossible not to get lost there - first of what I did this morning, since my hostel is pretty far away from everything else. However, therefore it has a terrace with an incredible lake view and jacuzzis.
    I didn't do so much today. After walking a bit through San Pedro I took a boat to the nearby town Santiago Atitlán with Bruno from Paris. We did a Tuk-Tuk tour to the main sights, including a view point over the lake, the coloured cemetery and the point of the lake were Maya women keep the tradition of washing their clothes by hand. In addition, we saw a religious ceremony of a Maya priest.
    After that, I passed most of my afternoon in the jacuzzi and just went out later to have some drinks with Bruno. On my way back I met a really nice English couple who walked me back to my hostel, since I couldn't find a Tuk-Tuk to take me there
    Read more