Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Making my way to the coast

    March 10, 2016 in Guatemala ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    The trip took me further east, first by bus to Río Dulce, then by boat to Lívingston on the Guatemalan Caribbean coast. Once again I noticed the friendliness of the people here: once I got out of the bus in Río Dulce, a man showed me the way to the dock. While I was waiting there for my boat, I had a nice conversation with one of the boatsmen. He even showed me the close sights and bought me a “Chocobanana“, frozen banana covered in chocolate (the same exists for mangos - delicious!).
    Going through Lívingston isn't the shortest way to get to Honduras, but everyone recommended me the boat trip up there. The river is surrounded by jungle and once in a while you see a mangrove-covered island. There are also a lot of cormorans, pelicans and kranichs, and with a lot of luck you can see one of the manatees or a crocodile.
    Then in Lívingston, I forgot my plan to continue to Honduras already the next day pretty quickly. Although there is not too much to do here, this little town has a very special Caribbean charm, which is also thanks to the Garifuna culture (the earlier slaves migrated for example here). Also the incredibly cute 3-weej-old puppies and the crabs walking around the hostel contributed.
    Read more