Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Finally in Honduras

    March 13, 2016 in Honduras ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Guatemala is amazing and I could have stayed there forever, but since I now had been on the road for two days to get to Honduras, using every medium of transportation possible, I was happy to finally get there. Especially after the endless colectivo rides (small minibusses that are by far less comfortable than the big busses) with their high volume folk and later christian music, being done with that for a while felt great.
    At the border, I had to wait some time and started talking to a local (and got a bag of delicious coconut water). I tried to make him conscious about not just throwing away your trash wherever you go, but I think the “everyone here does it“ attitude is too strong. I also couldn't understand why there are no ATMs at the border, but I seemed to be the only one asking for them. Anyway there were enough people who could change some of my dollars to lempira (€1 = L25).
    Unfortunately I didn't arrive in la Ceiba in time for the ferry to the bay island, but I hadn't expected that either. However, tomorrow morning it'll bring me to Utila, a snorkling and surfers paradise.
    Read more