Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Hot León

    March 21, 2016 in Nicaragua ⋅ ⛅ 6 °C

    Already yesterday I walked a bit around town, but after less then 2h I had to head back to the hostel as it was just way too hot. Even despite every dorm bed having a fan I wasn't really able to sleep for the whole time I spent in Leon - after some time I moved to the hammock in the backyard.
    However, I wasn't the only one passing their time either at volcano tours or in the shade of the hostel. With 41°C it was just impossible to move much more. Even the 2 blocks to the supermarket to get some water were too far.
    Tonight, however, we went to the main square to watch the procession held for San Benito, an ex-slave who had been made a saint. Since, at usually, it took place hours later than when we had been told, we first got some typical food at a street market: Gallo Pinto, maduro, salad, panque, espinacas, ... The choices were endless.
    Read more