Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Yoga, Surf and Party

    March 28, 2016 in Nicaragua ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    The thing San Juan is probably most known for is the “Sunday Funday“ pool crawl. I went there yesterday and except for my phone being stolen and the high entrance fee it was a lot of fun. It started with a pre-party at the pool of the hostel Pachamama at noon. After that we went to two other hostels until we arrived at the final bar around 8 pm. Although it's mostly international travelers, I also met many Nicaraguans and Costa Ricans that only came here for the party. But unfortunately, the fame of Sunday Funday also leads to a lot of drug traffic: I never heard so many people at the same party talking so openly about taking cocaine, as if it was the most normal thing to do.
    But party is not the only thing to do in San Juan: of the countless surfing spots in Nicaragua it is one of the best. I tried it twice. On Saturday I had a lesson, today I went by myself and only got some tips from a friend (he actually taught me more than the instructor I paid the other day). Once I was able to actually catch the wave and stand up it was so much fun! It definitely hasn't been the last time for me to surf :)
    Read more