Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Parque Nacional Cahuita

    April 8, 2016 in Costa Rica ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    The end of my trip is coming closer and closer very fast. Today was my last "real" day (tomorrow I will only be driving to San Jose in order to being closer to the airport for my 7 am flight on Sunday). I went to the National Park in Cahuita, not really knowing what to expect, since I had heard both good and bad things about it. But to make it short: it was the most beautiful place I've been to in Costa Rica. The water on the white-sand beaches is as blue as you would expect it in the Caribbean and the jungle that almost reaches all the way to it is full of all sorts of interesting animals. Unfortunately the blog only allows me to upload 6 pictures, but besides the weird crabs and spiders, the sloths and the (VERY poisonous) yellow snake you can see there, we also saw loads of capuchina, howler and spider monkeys and birds. In addition, we saw a brown viper and another really large snake that hastily left the trail when it saw us. It was around two meters long, but hid so well between the leaves that it was impossible to take a nice picture. Not to mention a coati and the countless iguanas and basilics.Read more