Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Sarajevo Historic Center

    August 9, 2017 in Bosnia and Herzegovina ⋅ ☀️ 36 °C

    On my last day in Sarajevo, I did another walking tour, this time trough the historic center and covering what happened before the war. From the ottoman founders over the communist Jugoslawien regime and the short Austrian-Hungarian period till the assassination of Franz Ferdinand, in between the orthodox and roman-catholic churches as well as countless mosques, Neno gave us a really good overview.
    You can still see many of the original influences: the whole town is full of baklava and Turkish silverware, not to start about all the covered-up women in the streets. Even the name of Sarajevo comes from the Turkish word for palace. After the war, Turkey and Greece donated money for the reconstruction of the mosques and orthodox churches, respectively.
    Although I'm slowly getting used to it, it keeps striking me not to understand a word of what is spoken. I tried to learn the most basic words in Serbian, but except for Hello and Thanks I wouldn't even know when to apply them... You kind of want to know what you say yes or no to.
    Read more