Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    From Burguete to Zubiri

    September 23, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    So far Burguete is my favorite little village. Yes, I want to move there, open a little casa rural with a huge vegetable garden, make all my own garden food, have the best geraniums & other annual flowers & live happily ever after!

    Our 18.9 km trek (about 11.7 miles) today was filled with lots of different habitats, from treed forests & craggy rocked paths, to paved stone and open fields. Lots of cows, sheep, horses & goats. I never get tired of taking pics of these animals living the good life -- eating the grass & taking naps. Walking today was not the walk in the park I thought I was going to have. The end was a pretty steep decline with a rocky trail leading into the little town of Zubiri where we are staying tonight. The good news is that the rain held off until dinner time. By then we were showered, found several Camino friends to eat with & were enjoying an outside dinner at one of the cafes.The trail could have been a bit slippery if we were walking during the showers.

    Pretty excited about my end of the day purchase from the pharmacia after another killer day my for knees -- 2 knee braces! Hopefully I won't be whining in any other future posts!
    Read more