Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Pamplona to Puente la Reina

    September 26, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    3 things I learned from walking today:
    #1 uphills &;downhills are always easier when walking & talking to a friend.
    Today we enjoyed meeting Sandy & Jim who lived in Boston for 30 years & now travel the world. We also had a lovely dinner with them tonight. Today was our longest day in terms of miles walking -- 15 miles, but the walk didn't feel so long & was much easier as we chatted!

    #2 churches are beautiful and give me peace because they are so old & have withstood the test of time.
    We haven't been in many churches since we've been here because they haven't been open.
    I read that there aren't enough priests to cover the churches & many priests are responsible for taking care of dozens churches so they aren't open. However, today we were able to go inside 2 as we walked. Statues and words of wisdom, give me hope. I am hearing church bells ringing as I write this post.
    #3 The movie "The Way" was pretty accurate in how beautiful the Alto del Perdon is. We climbed up the top of a steep hill to see these unique metal sculptures.
    Read more