Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    The fish is fresh in Killybegs.

    July 3, 2021 in Ireland ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    We had arranged for Jim to deposit Paddy ashore this morning and we going to make an early start but not this early!
    I was woken by the alarm at 07.00 and was about to call paddy when I went to get my phone which had been charging I the saloon.
    The time on my phone 05.15! Someone had set the clock incorrectly, back to bed and on the second time I got up at the correct time.

    Jim arrived t 08.00 and deposited Paddy ashore next morning and we departed Killala Bay soon after and had a great sail across Donegal Bay.
    We were slightly off the wind and had to reef the main as the wind increased and later had to reef the genoa a little. I hardly slowed and was doing 6 to 7 knts consistently, leading ‘Second Chance’ by a short head.
    As we neared the Donegal coast we were able to take the reefs out as the wind eased and the seas flattened but I was still doing 6.2 knts when I entered McSwyne’s Bay.
    By the time we had tied up in Killybegs both Jim and I had awarded the best sail of the trip to today’s exhilarating leg. Seven hours of an ideal steady wind in almost ideal conditions.

    Paddy was waiting for us at when we tied up at 16.00.
    Another East ferry boat ‘Thunder Child II’ was tied up close to us while waiting for suitable weather for its latest record attempt.
    Killybegs Marina is another tax payer’s marina and a great addition to this part of the coast.

    We explored Killybegs with Paddy and had plenty of laughs with his great personality.
    He lifts the atmosphere wherever he is.

    We had dinner at the 'Fish Shack', a trailer which produced meals better than many restaurants I've been to.
    We found a pub where we could have a pint or two which sitting outside.

    We were fairly tired after our sail so before too long Paddy and I found ourselves back onboard Eureka and watched the England v. Ukraine match before having an early night.
    Read more