Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Lough Swilly

    July 8, 2021 in Ireland ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    I woke to a lovely morning, the second one in a row. Things were looking up.

    I was having my breakfast in the sun when I saw Jim & Angela were ready to go.
    I was really chilled out and the coffee was better than good so I decided not to rush the breakfast and I helped them to cast off while I continued with my coffee.

    I left at 09.30 and began sailing with the wind behind me before going onto a broad reach. The wind was light and after about an hour I dropped the sails and began motoring before trying again later but eventually had to give up.
    One problem with sailing is that as the good weather arrives, the wind usually disappears in the opposite direction.
    I could see ‘Second Chance’ a few miles ahead of me on the plotter thanks to the AIS but I never caught up with them.

    I rounded Fahad Head and entered Lough Swilly at 14.45.
    ‘Second Chance’ was anchored off Portsalon beach on the west side of the lough and having called them up on the VHF they came out to join me but it turned out that I had interrupted Jim’s afternoon nap!

    Well, the British were right, you could hide a whole fleet in the lough. I wasn’t prepared for the size of it. While it’s narrower than Bantry Bay, its navigable waters are almost as long.

    I continued motoring slowly up the lough enjoying the scenery in the sunshine followed by ‘Second Chance’.
    We passed the town of Buncrana and there was a beach stretching the whole way to Fahan a few miles south of the town.
    When we got to the creek approaching Fahan Marina it became very shallow but with a clear sandy bottom.
    Angela was not impressed and I’m sure was wishing we waited a bit longer for the tide to rise a bit more but we crawled in and were met by Gary who helps on the marina and who took our lines.
    By 17.30 we had tied up at this lovely quite marina and got together on ‘Second Chance’ to chill out while we soaked in the sun before it went down and left a lovely sunset.
    We had dinner soon after and ate in the cockpit as we watched the comings and goings.
    I returned to 'Eureka' about 21.00 but with all the heat and fresh air I didn't keep my eyes open for too long.

    One thing I found out today was that with 0.00m on the echo sounder, I am still afloat, but not by much.
    Read more