Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    The 12th, Marching Season.

    July 12, 2021 in Ireland ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Maeve drove me into Cork to get the 05.00 bus to Dublin.

    As we drove through the north on the Letterkenny bus it was interesting to see people in the various towns preparing for the parades.
    I think many Orange Order members today would find it strange that the Battle of the Boyne was part of a wider European war between the French (James ll) and Europe (William of Orange) and that the Pope was supporting and helping to financing William.
    Such are the sometimes strange facts of history.

    While travelling through Derry on the way back, the bus had to stop to allow a parade to pass.
    Due to covid there were only limited amounts marching. Still it was interesting to see.

    I arrived back in Buncrana at 13.45 and did some provisioning before getting a taxi to the marina.
    I called to Jim & Angela and discovered that they had been to Derry by road while I was away.
    We decided that seeing that it would add two days to our journey sailing up Lough Foyle to Derry and back down again, that we would give it a miss.
    I was a wee bit disappointed as I was looking forward to being able to tie up in the city and seeing the changes since I last visited in 1982 during 'The Troubles'.

    I headed back to Eureka and got her and myself ready to leave tomorrow.
    We are heading around Malin Head the most northerly part of Ireland and from now on instead of heading further away from East Ferry, each passing day will bring us closer.
    Read more