Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Heading to Florida on AmTrak

    February 4, 2023 in the United States

    We arrived at the Lorton AutoTrain station, a bit before noon, having stopped at Jersey Mike's for train food. Our car was in queue for loading, and we hung out in the waiting area until 3:30 boarding.

    I put in an upgrade bid for a roomette, but didn't get it, so we went to our seats in car 5310, seats 11 and 12. The seats are roomy, have enough room that reclining doesn't bother those behind, and there are leg rests and footrests that make coach sleeping possible.

    We departed at 5. They had to hook up the automobile carrier cars.

    W thought we could eat in the dining car. I was pretty sure that was only for the sleeper people. It was verified that we could buy food from the cafe. No dining car for us. We were happy enough with the rest of our sandwiches, and some chips. I also a had a protein drink before I went to sleep.

    I slept pretty well. They had complimentary cold breakfast- coffee, apple cinnamon Cheerios for me- and I got a banana for the road.

    We arrived a bit early in Sanford, then waited almost 2 hours for our car. We checked in to the AutoTrain early-- first in, last out?
    Read more