Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Clooney and Letterman

    October 12, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Crazy day. I got up early in the morning for the trip from my hotel in downtown Brooklyn to the JFK airport. There was a lot of traffic apparently, so the Uber driver chose an interesting route that passed through half the state. Fortunately there was no line at check in - otherwise I might still be in NYC!

    Anyway, after a six hour flight across the nation I landed in sunny L.A. (actually New York was warmer but that’s another story). Now, LAX is probably the worst airport in the Western Hemisphere when it comes to ground transport. I must have spent an hour waiting for the bus to Union Station. Then a train, and another bus to get to my hotel. Quite the journey.

    After getting settled at my hotel - the lovely Tangerine where I’ve now stayed 7 times (!) - I got on yet another long drive for an event across town. Just a few days ago I was lucky enough to get a ticket for the taping of a new show with David Letterman. I think it was the first episode. As it turns out, his guest was none other than George Clooney! So there I was - in the second row - watching Letterman interview George Clooney for well over 90 minutes. Pretty unique and intimate experience, in a venue with only 250 people.

    Clooney is not only a great actor, but an activist and philanthropist who is engaged in many great causes. It was so fascinating to listen to him talk about his career, and all the great humanitarian work him and his wife are doing. It was also fun to see Letterman again who hasn’t been in the spotlight much since he retired from The Late Show.
    Read more