Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    The Greek..

    October 15, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    Today is Hollywood Day! This morning I switched from my hotel in Marina del Rey to The Magic Castle hotel in Hollywood - usually rated #1 or #2 in all of Los Angeles. I have stayed here several times before and it is indeed a very good hotel. The service is just great, and they have all these extra touches like an ice cream machine and free soda. As much as you want! It’s also located very centrally in the touristy section of Hollywood.

    After checking in I went for a walk in that very area - the Walk of Fame is indeed the only place in Los Angeles where people actually walk. I then tried the half hour tour of the famous Chinese Theatre, which was actually very interesting. I also browsed the Hollywood & Highland center, where you can see the Hollywood Sign from a distance. I’ve been here 8 times now so I kind of know the sights very well but still a fun place to visit.

    It was 35 degrees C today - very hot! - so I spent a bit of time by the nice pool at the hotel. After some dinner I eventually made my way to The Greek, a legendary venue where I saw Evanescence live. They were playing with a symphony orchestra as part of a new production and tour that launched just yesterday. It’s a bit of a contrast from their usual rock shows, but great performance from Amy Lee and a lot of beautiful songs.
    Read more