Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Singapore Day 2 + Bali Day 1

    April 24, 2018 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    It was hard to say goodbye to the amazing Marina Bay Sands hotel this morning, but alas I had only booked one night this time around. Before leaving I had a nice walk all around the marine area, where I saw some other fancy hotels and the historic Fullerton hotel. It’s definitely an interesting city. Everything is very clean and pristine, especially inside the fancy shopping center at Marina Bay Sands. The floor was so clean you could have eaten your dinner off it!

    Speaking of eating - I had lunch (fish & chips) at Gordon Ramsey’s restaurant Bread Street Kitchen which was also very good. Great service from staff - otherwise I’m sure Ramsey would scream at them. I even got a cookie (or a whole jar full of them actually) when I had finished lunch.

    By the way, this was the second time in as many days that I chose the fish. Normally not a big fan; maybe because the fish at work back home is shit 😀

    At Singapore’s Changi airport I was also treated to free snacks and the airport has various green areas - one featured a small pool with colorful fish (first time on this trip I saw a fish that didn’t end up in my belly).

    It has been named the best airport in the world several times in a row, and I can definitely see why.

    If Changi is the best, Bali’s airport might be the worst. Flying there from Singapore only took two hours, but after arrival you have to endure 3 lines before you can leave: first immigration, then customs and finally you get your bag scanned which is quite unusual at arrival! They also had drug-sniffing dogs around that passed by the same line maybe 4 times. After getting out of that whole performance, you are met by screaming taxi drivers trying to win customers. Charming.

    When getting to the hotel, the car (an official hotel shuttle) was scanned for bombs. They definitely don’t fuck around with security here! It took me five minutes to get out of the airport in New York the last time I was in the US.

    Anyway, I finally got to the hotel - the luxurious five star Conrad where I was upgraded (for free, yay) to a large suite with a view of the garden. I also paid to upgrade my last night of the 3 night stay to a Pool Villa. More on that later!
    Read more