Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    HorrorHound Day 2

    August 25, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    Fun day at HorrorHound! After a short walk around the show floor, I attended a Billy Zane panel. He has done a lot of different parts over the years, but he is probably best known for portraying the villain in Titanic (not the iceberg). His panel was quite fun and interesting. He also talked briefly about his first acting job in Back To The Future II! Not a bad way to start out, even though it was a small part.

    I also visited a panel for A Nightmare on Elm Street. Several actors from the franchise were there, including Freddy Krueger himself, Robert Englund. He is possibly the biggest name in the horror genre and definitely the most popular guest at this con. While I’m not a huge fan of the Freddy films, I really like Englund and it was great to hear some stories from the set.

    Another horror legend is Kane Hodder, who played Jason in some of the Friday the 13th films. He introduced a new documentary about himself, and then conducted a very fascinating Q&A. Aside from his stint as the iconic Jason Voorhees, Hodder has worked on a ton of other films in various capacities. Great guy.

    Speaking of Friday the 13th, I saw a screening of Never Hike Alone - a fan film that uses the Jason character and the location of the original film. It was actually very well done.

    My personal highlight of the day was getting a photo with none other than Kiefer Sutherland! He’s done so much amazing work over the years, most recently as the President in Designated Survivor. This was his first con appearance and the main reason I decided to go to Indianapolis - of all places!

    I also met the Cobra Kai guys to get autographs, as well as another acting legend - Lou Diamond Phillips! He was very nice and pleasant, and gave hugs to everyone. He was in the same room as Kiefer, his old friend from Young Guns.

    Finally, I met Judge Reinhold - another 80s star who, of course, played Billy Rosewood in Beverly Hills Cop! He was super nice and he was very fond of my Pearl Jam tshirt.

    After a long day at the con, I had dinner at the local Hard Rock which is a bit of a holiday tradition by now. Funnily I ran into Lou Diamond Phillips at my hotel when I got back.

    I look forward to another HorrorHound day tomorrow!
    Read more