Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Bangkok Day 2

    March 5, 2019 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    My first time in Bangkok. Quite a chaotic city with lots of people, cars and motorbikes everywhere.

    I started the day in a fairly mellow way though: hanging out by the pool! I don’t know when I will get a chance to do that again in 30+ degrees so I wanted to make the most of it.

    After leaving my hotel I went for a walk in the lovely Lumphini Park. Yup, there really is a park in this city and there were barely any people there.

    I then visited several of the HUGE shopping malls in the city. At least four of them are all in the same area, side by side. They are generally extremely luxurious and with all the top brands, like Gucci, Chanel and our very own Bang & Olufson. It was fun to browse these enormous and super fancy Dubai-ish malls.

    Following lunch I checked out the Sea-Life aquarium and Madame Tussauds - both located inside malls of course. The aquarium was impressive and definitely one of the better I’ve seen, while the Tussauds experience was a bit short. They had a fun 4D movie though.

    I also visited Bangkok’s Hard Rock Café - another one for my collection. The café itself was a bit small though so I didn’t eat there this time around.

    After spending more time at the biggest and most impressive of the malls, Siam Paragon, I had some time to kill so I thought I would check out one of the movie theatres here. I saw the movie “The Upside” - a remake of a french film from a few years back. Both the original and the US remake are really good, and the movie theater was nice. Before the movie started, they showed a short film about Thailand’s king and everyone had to stand up. Pretty interesting. The King is extremely important to the Thai people.

    Now it’s time to go back to the airport for my 12-hour flight back home!
    Read more