Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Los Angeles Day #2

    October 22, 2019 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 21 °C

    In the morning I spent some more time at my lovely hotel in Long Beach, hanging out by the pool for a bit as well.

    Then I went to the see the Queen Mary - a retired British ocean liner that sailed from the 1930s until 1967, and it’s now a museum and hotel.

    When I first arrived, I went on an hour-long guided tour focused mainly on all the ghosts that apparently haunt the ship! The guide showed us some of the places around the ship that are said to be occupied by ghosts, or where there’s been sightings and strange occurences..

    Whether or not you believe in such tales, the guide was great and it was fun to hear all the stories from the ship’s past, and all the legenda who have sailed on it. The ship primarily functions as a hotel today.

    After leaving the Queen Mary, I made my way to Santa Monica to check in to yet another hotel - the Hampton Inn.

    I thought it was a bit of a budget hotel, but I ended up in a huge suite, featuring a very large balcony with views of the city to one side, and the ocean on the other (albeit quite in the distance). The room itself was very nice, with a separate living room and bedroom, and it looked like it was recently renovated.

    In Santa Monica, I had lunch at Bubba Gump’s at the pier, a restaurant chain based on the movie Forrest Gump! The food was great, actually.

    After a long walk around Santa Monica, in the very warm and sunny weather, I ended up watching the sunset over the beach. Lovely!

    After that I went for a walk around the third street promenade shopping district, and then ended my night by watching the latest Zombieland movie. It was a bit nuts, but pretty entertaining.
    Read more