Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Los Angeles Day #7

    October 28, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Last day!

    After leaving the hotel this morning, I took a train to Downtown and actually visited the “real” Los Angeles for the first time.

    Whenever I’m in L.A., I usually don’t spend much (if any) time Downtown. I prefer other areas like Hollywood, Santa Monica or the Valley. Unlike New York, L.A. is not particularly good when it comes to exploring by foot as I like to do.

    In fact, I have walked over 200 km (125 miles) on this trip 😳 And I thought this was supposed to be a relaxing holiday ;)

    Anyway, once I arrived in the Downtown area I walked around for a bit, ending up at the impressive Westin Bonaventure hotel. It was used for filming memorable scenes from some of my fav action flicks, like “In The Line of Fire” with Clint Eastwood, and “True Lies” starring Arnold Schwarzenegger. In that movie, Arnold rides a horse through the lobby and somehow managed to get into an elevator - still on the horse. I saw that very elevator today and I’m not sure how they got a horse in there 🤷‍♂️ Hmm.

    After a long walk around Downtown, I found myself in an interesting area which was quite different from Beverly Hills - let me put it that way. They had some sort of street market where people were selling a bunch of things from small stalls, not to mention a lot of street food vendors.

    At some point I arrived at my destination - an exhibit called “I Like Scary Movies”. As the name suggests it is based around horror movies, so they had recreated sets or scenes from movies such as The Shining, IT, Friday the 13th, A Nightmare on Elm Street and others. It was done quite well.

    When I got back to Hollywood, I had some food at Mel’s Drive-In, a legendary old school diner.

    Before leaving for the airport, I saw a zombie walk! Basically zombies rolling out of the Metro train station. An amusing and fitting end to my Hollywood visit!

    Now I’m heading to the airport for an 11-hour flight to Zurich, then a two-hour layover, followed by a two-hour flight to Copenhagen. Phew. That will be fun 🙊
    Read more