Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Going Down South

    November 7, 2018 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 7 °C

    A couple of months ago I was chatting to my dad on the phone, pondering whether or not to book on to a seminar on expeditions by the Royal Geographic Society in London. You should know he has a way of making anything seem possible and everything seem important to do. And figuring out what opportunities there are within and after this degree, and milking it for every last drop, is important. So that was it, Scrooge-like voice ignored, I booked the ticket and my flight the next day.

    I am currently sitting on a sofa in Edinburgh as a lay-over before getting the flight to London tomorrow morning. Reading my brother’s latest post of his adventures in South America I thought I might write one myself. With 3rd year whizzing by a little too quickly and worrying about what is supposed to come after, writing about what is happening in the now might just be all I needed.

    Also I thought it might provide extra procrastination for others to escape the current reality of ruffling hair in front of assignment screens ;)

    Anyway, I will try to write a little bit about what this whole seminar is about, what ideas are happening right now in the world of expeditions and how much this could mean for us students planning our own adventures (if in 3rd PIE or not).

    We’ll see what happens :)
    Read more