Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Condesa

    January 17, 2020 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Mike&Oxanna live in a neighborhood called Condesa in Avenida Amsterdam. It’s a very hip place with many Restaurants, Cafes, Galleries, local art shops, Yoga places, Organic food and so on. You get the picture?
    Condesa is inhabited by many Expats and American retirees. Mexico forAmericans is like Spain to Northern European.
    In the morning they gather for coffee in one of the many coffees.
    The prices here are incredibly cheap. For example Manicure 8.80Sfr., Acrylnails from scratch 20.- Sfr. (Of course only woman can understand!) One Taco 93 Rappen. Even if you eat 3 (and I was done after 3) that amounts to not even 3Sfr. Big Salad with onions, tomato and avocado 2.60Sfr.
    Suits my budget!
    Avenida Amsterdam once upon a time was horse race track. They made it into an Avenue with many trees and the Avenue is basically a loop where people take leisurely walks. Joggers and dogs collaborate in the space. Apropos dogs; At every corner there is dog saloon. Mexicans seem to quite adore their dogs and send them to the dog Spa once a week!
    Condesa also has two big beautiful parks. I can definitely feel the difference in breathing between walking in parks or under trees and on roads with heavy traffic an no greens. On those streets my throat starts to ache.
    I’ve been here 15 years ago and traveled north with my boyfriend at the time. I felt Mexicans were quite unfriendly. Today I realize that they might have reacted to my (jerk) boyfriend.
    Mexicans are totally friendly!
    The announcement says; This park is morning because of the million trees that died in the fires in Australia. Trees are amazing!

    Covered 8.6 km
    Read more