Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    The end of the world (again)

    July 1, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 66 °F

    Cabo da Roca, west of Sintra, is the westernmost part of continental Europe, and it is extremely windy. Very, very windy with dramatic cliffs. The lighthouse here started operation in 1772. Then I went on to Cascais, a beach town about a half hour outside of Lisbon. I loved the combination of the historic buildings and the typical black-and-white mosaic sidewalks with the sailboats and beachgoers.
    When I returned to Lisbon, I still had time to visit the statue of King José I in the Praça do Comércio and the Lisboa Story Centre to learn about the history of Lisbon. Then I had a lovely dinner at Taberna Moderna, which I chose partially because it had good reviews and partially because it was two doors down from my hotel, with outdoor tables great for people-watching and a river view. They had great octopus, and this is where I learned that Portugal has a gin scene. However, the actual gins I had weren't Portuguese - Gin Mare from a Spanish fishing village and Gin Sul from Hamburg made with some Portuguese ingredients. Gin Sul was particularly good.
    Read more